top of page


The New England Table Hockey League was founded in September 2019 by Steve Bernstein and Brian Sullivan. The inaugural season kicked off with eight core players and two host venues in Needham and Plainville, Massachusetts. This was an experienced group with a deep history of playing on the Benej Classic game. Most of this group had roots dating back to the old "Hubbard Hall" days of 35+ years ago when Rick Benej himself hosted tournaments in his home town in upstate New York. The league dates were held every other Tuesday night alternating between Needham & Plainville. With four players from Massachusetts and four players from Rhode Island, these locations allowed for a manageable car ride for all. With four finely tuned Benej Classic games in place the action was fast and very competitive. Unfortunately, the early success of that first season was interrupted by the Corona Virus and we had to shut down the league in March of 2020. As we all know, Covid was not a quick hit delay and the 2020-2021 season was also cancelled as we all had to deal with this virus.

Although the delay in playing was frustrating for everyone, the formula was in place and the table hockey interest in the area was spreading. During the summer of 2021 the league decided to restructure and expand into more states with an extremely robust schedule. To do so, the league now becomes a once a month event with players coming from Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts & Rhode Island. We play on the first Saturday of the month from October to April. Our venue is Mick Morgan’s Irish Pub on Route 1 in Norwood, MA…which is located four miles north of Gillette Stadium on Route 1.Currently we have 15 players in the league and we are growing. This includes 5 players from the very competitive New York Table Hockey League based out of Staten Island, New York. 

There is no cost to play in the league and there is no mandatory attendance. Come and play as often as your schedule permits. It’s time to get behind the rods…!



2019-2020 Inaugural Season Roster


Steve “The Stein” Bernstein

Brian Sullivan

Greg Pope

Peter Terreri

Don “Mr. Fun” Poirier

John Kraunelis

Al Cousineau

Nadir Stepanov

Gallery: Gallery
bottom of page